The official student newspaper of Walter Johnson High School

The Pitch

The official student newspaper of Walter Johnson High School

The Pitch

The official student newspaper of Walter Johnson High School

The Pitch


The Pitch Online  

Walter Johnson High School

6400 Rock Spring Drive

Bethesda, MD 20814


[email protected]

Mrs. Borrelli: [email protected]

Founded in 2009, The Pitch Online is Walter Johnson High School’s digital newspaper. In order to keep up with new media trends, the originally print-only newspaper The Pitch went online while still producing its monthly, award-winning print newspaper. After a year of working with barely any web design help, the editors wanted the appearance of the site to match the high quality of its content. So, The Pitch Online partnered with School Newspapers Online, a Minnesota-based company focused on the web design of specifically online high school newspapers, and launched a completely new website for the 2010-2011 school year. The Pitch Online is now capable of having photo galleries, videos, audio, a sports ticker and other eye-catching graphics.

As we are still adapting to our new site and trying to attract readers, we would appreciate any reader input for The Pitch Online. Co-online Editors-in-Chief Hannah Cyiza Andemambika, Jackson Buss, and Aya Hesham are always open to your feedback, so please e-mail [email protected] with questions, comments, suggestions, or concerns.

2020-2021 Staff

Online Editors-in-Chief: Cyiza Andemambika, Jackson Buss, Aya Hesham

Print Editors-in-Chief: Stella Hadamer, Caeden Babcock, Alex Wolfson

Managing Editors: Jillian Ward, Maeve Sanford-Kelly, Nour Faragallah

Podcast/Film Editor: Meron Berhe, Nicole Weaver

News Editors: Yuval Shachar, Ila Gordon, Jona Jancewicz

Feature Editors: Tissa Amaira, Cora Flynn, Catherine Prado, Katie Campbell

Arts & Entertainment Editors: Ellie Montemayor, Raquel Daley, Annabella Opipari

Sports Editors: Luke Liden, Robert Hsu, Andrew Plotnick

Opinion Editors: Ruby Topalian, Julia Garms, Rachael Wolfson

Layout Editors: Summer Laird, Laura-Jane Mata

Social Media & Marketing Coordinators: Ella Barrett

Photography Editor: Josephine Meriot

Business Managers: Alexandra Jarnell

Staff Writers: Liann Keren, Caleb Kasten, Nathaniel Krazlis, Walker Prince, Nolan Wilson, Noel Haptemariam

Social News Gathering Ethics Code

As a reliable and accurate news source, we strive to:

-Present news properly, honestly and fairly.

-Approach every assignment with the fairness of open minds and without prior judgment.

-Verify the authenticity of content before publishing or distributing it.

-Be transparent with the audience about the accuracy of our content.

-Seek informed consent before using information from the individual who created it.

-Give due credit to the owner of the content provided.

-Minimize the number of errors we make and correct those that occur.

-Consider technical measures to ensure anonymity of sources when required.

For corrections, please email [email protected]

Comment Policy

Readers are welcome to comment. We reserve the right to moderate, delete, or edit comment threads as we see fit. Comments are monitored and spam comments will be deleted. Attacks on other commenters or Pitch staff members will not be tolerated. The opinions presented on this website do not represent the opinions of the WJ student body as a whole. 

Byline Policy

Any significant contributions by a Pitch staff member or editor will be credited in a byline or a tagline by the story. If multiple staff members contribute to a piece, their names will be notated by the story.

Correction Policy

Clarifications and corrections should be clear, concise and direct. They must be comprehensible to anyone who reads them, including readers who may have missed the story that is being corrected. Anyone reading the correction should be able to understand how and why the mistake has been corrected.

Awards (Print)

Columbia Scholastic Press Association

Gold Medalist

2009, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019

Columbia Scholastic Press Association

Silver Medalist

2014, 2015, 2018

Columbia Scholastic

Bronze Medalist


American Scholastic Press Association

First Place


Columbia Scholastic Press Association Marylander Award

Newspaper Division C


Columbia Scholastic Press Association Silver Crown



Activate Search