MVA Crashes Hopes and Dreams of Teenagers

Ian Green

Image by Samara Fantie

 

An event occurred that rocked the foundation of the student body. Women and children are being saved first, and there are not many survivors. People are scared. The teenagers are angry. Because the man changed the driving law. It left many fuming and more questioning the motives behind it.

Before the change in the law, most people felt that the law was fair. You had to have your permit six months, you could get your permit at the ripe age of 15 and 9 months and you could be driving by the seasoned age of 16 and 3 months. It was fair, everyone was happy and kids would forever be late to fifth period due to the newfound freedoms causing them to enjoy their orange chicken and chicken nuggets a little too much.

Still, it was not much of a problem. Until the dummies over in Annapolis had to butt in and ruin it all. At least, according to one student who has been personally affected by the law.

“I’m really annoyed by it because all my other friends have their licenses and I don’t,” said junior Michael New, victimized by his October birthday.

Students like him feel like the MVA made a move that had absolutely no merit, that they are teenage-hating sadists just trying to make the world a more complicated place. The stance of the General Assembly, Maryland’s state congress, is that the new law helps drivers stay safe, because most driving accidents happen within the first few months of a driver’s experience. It also prevents teenagers from driving with peers, as another part of the law is that teenagers can only drive relatives for the first nine months, then after that they can carry one additional underage passenger until they reach the age of 18.

However, the new law is not as big of a deal as some of my peers think it is. Sure, it’s lame. I have to wait three extra months to get my license, when six months seemed like enough.

But after having my permit for the last three months, I realized that maybe the extra time is not that bad. The rush in trying to get your license the day you turn 16 and 3 months does more harm than good. Drivers now have the necessary added time to progress into natural, steady drivers. The mindset behind this rush to get your license as soon as possible can churn out generations of drivers who learned how to pass the driver’s test, but didn’t necessarily learn how to be a good driver throughout life.

The extension of the six months to nine ultimately helps learning drivers. They will not stress with having to take Driver’s Ed, doing in-car sessions and having to learn how to master everything on the driver’s test within the six months. All learning drivers benefit from this even if they don’t know it yet. It makes them better, mature drivers. I swear. Now please excuse me, I have to battle this incoming mob.

Below is a link for a state-by-state comparison of driving laws. Get ready to be jealous of kids in South Dakota: https://wjpitch.com/editorial/64-editorial/667-driving-chart.html

0
0